Husker Awards Banquet

A bevy of post-season awards were handed out Saturday night at the Huskers’ annual team banquet at the Embassy Suites in Lincoln.

Offensive MVP – Mo Purify
Defensive MVP – Steve Octavien
Special Teams MVP – Rickey Thenarse (2nd year in a row)

Cortney Grixby – Tom Novak Trophy.

“The Novak Trophy is presented to the senior who “best exemplifies courage and determination despite all odds in the manner of Nebraska All-America center Tom Novak.”

Bo Ruud – Guy Chamberlin Trophy.

Presented annually to the senior player who has shown by the play and contributions to the betterment of the University of Nebraska football squad that he has the qualities and dedication of Guy Chamberlin to the great Cornhusker tradition.

Ben Eisenhart – the Cletus Fischer Native Son Award.

The award is presented annually to the senior player selected by the Husker coaches, who best exemplifies the following qualities: good work ethic, competitiveness, leadership, forthrightness, sense of humor, pride, loyalty and love of Nebraska.

Scout Team Offensive MVP – Zach Lee
Scout Team Defensive MVP – Thomas Rice

It’s hard to argue against Purify as offensive MVP. The defensive MVP award should have been sold for scrap metal this season, but I suppose Octavien is as deserving as any.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: